I watch too much TV and a question

  • Does Bob the Anteater creep anyone else out? I love Stoner Snook. He’s so……dude! And grumpy ass Ick and haute princess Burdette make me laugh. But Bob just has this weird Creepy Ant Stalker vibe going on. It makes me visibly shudder when he talks about “the (gulp)….ants “.
  • Mare Winningham is supposed to be Meredith Grey‘s step mother. It bugged me, but then I thought maybe, just maybe, Meredith’s dad got cozy with a much younger woman. That’s plausible. But then that theory was blown when Mare kept talking about “when you were younger….” and “when you were a kid…..”. Does trivial stuff like this not bug anyone else? (probably not). I mean, she’d have to have been TEN years old when Meredith was born. I know! I looked it up on IMDb. I know! I’m a freak.
  • QUESTION: what do you do with your fabric scraps? I am finding myself incapable of throwing scraps out. My grandmother, an absolutely incredible seamstress who sewed thousands (no exaggeration) of wedding gowns and bridesmaid dresses, kept all her scraps stuffed in a white trash bag. Not the most efficient organization, although it made for countless hours of scrap digging pleasure for me growing up. I need a system. I have a pile of “smallish” scraps and “bigger type” scraps. Right now they are in Ziploc bags. Just a step up from the big white trash bag.
5 Comments

Filed under crap

5 responses to “I watch too much TV and a question

  1. I keep my fabric stashed in rubber maid tubs under the bed. I try and keep all the cottons together and all the soft stuff (fleece, chenille, minky) together as well.

    It seems that it is all the rage in crafting circles to make doll quilts. I keep thinking I’ll use my scraps for that and then sell the quilts. Check out this lady’s quilts, they are beautiful and inspiring.

  2. Yeah. I find Meredith’s step-mother choice a bit odd. I thought the same thing you thought. She had to be much younger than her hubby, but confused at the history she had with Meredith.

    (Oh, and my scraps are in a basket. A picnic style basket with a lid.)

  3. I have been having the same problem- I just keep making a mess when I dig through them to find that ONE color and then I have to straighten it all out every once in a while, and it takes time. I have a couple ideas and am not sure yet what I want.

    I’m considering some desk organizers- you know
    the kind with the trays and slots and stuff for your ‘in’ and ‘out’ stuff?
    http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html/sr=1-2/qid=1177530951/ref=sr_1_2/601-7151970-4772951?ie=UTF8&asin=B000F4ILIE
    or maybe one of those expanding folders like I keep my bills in? I have one for scrapbooking peices too, and it works great!

    Or even one of those boxed wine rack/shelf things?
    Like this one at target.com: http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html/sr=1-15/qid=1177530700/ref=sr_1_15/601-7151970-4772951?ie=UTF8&asin=B000NIOHWG

    Or maybe one of those hanging organizers for kids or for shoes?
    http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html/sr=1-3/qid=1177531173/ref=sr_1_3/601-7151970-4772951?ie=UTF8&asin=B0000TQGPO

    For my growing fabric collection, I want to make a hanging organizer that you might use in your closet for t-shirts (hubs needs one badly too) made of canvas. Like this: http://www.target.com/gp/detail.html/sr=1-8/qid=1177531173/ref=sr_1_8/601-7151970-4772951?ie=UTF8&asin=B000KHTDXS

    Oh, and sorry for the weird long links- I don’t do html…

  4. Oh! Or some of those dividers like I have for my Christmas tree ornaments! That would be good, I think I may have found my solution… oh, but you were asking for yourself, gee how thoughtful of me! I like to think about me…

  5. I’m liking the hanging organizer idea……Now to find somewhere convenient to hang it! Thanks for the ideas and links!

Leave a Reply

